IBy Ilias · Updated October 10, 2026 · Listings checked on Amazon.com
Affiliate links: if you buy through our links, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not affect our picks.
In short
The best commuter electric bike on this page is the Jasion EB5. It pairs a removable 360 Wh battery and a claimed 25-40 miles with a stated 49.6 lbs weight and a 5'4" to 6'4" rider range, details most rivals skip. Its 1000 W peak motor goes beyond the 750 W cap most states use.
Best for: Commuters on a budget who want a simple high-step city e-bike with throttle and a removable battery.
The most complete commuter listing on this page, with weight, rider height and a removable battery all stated. Its 1000 W peak motor is above the 750 W limit most states use, so check local rules first.
A 360 Wh removable battery gives a claimed 25-40 miles, and it has a USB port to charge a phone.
Top speed is 20 mph, with 3 pedal assist levels, throttle, pedal-only and walk modes.
The bike weighs 49.6 lbs and fits riders from 5'4" to 6'4".
Specs taken from the product listings on October 10, 2026. –: not listed by the manufacturer. Range: maximum claimed figures, often lower in real riding.
The models in detail
This page is for riders who want an ebike for the daily trip to work, school or the train station. We picked six models from Amazon.com product listings checked on October 10, 2026, looking for removable batteries, published weights and legal-speed motors. We did not ride these bikes, so every range and speed below is the manufacturer's claim, not a measurement of ours.
1 · Our pick
Jasion EB5
Electric bike4,1/5 from 2321 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)
For a daily commute, the EB5 gives you the facts you need before buying: a removable 36 V 10 Ah (360 Wh) battery, a claimed range of 25-40 miles, a 20 mph top speed and a stated weight of 49.6 lbs. It fits riders from 5'4" to 6'4", rolls on 26 x 1.95 in puncture-resistant tires with a front suspension fork and 7 speeds, and adds a USB port to charge your phone on the way. That is more published data than the Gotrax R1 or the two 14-inch folders, which give no weight at all. The catch is the motor: the listing only quotes 1000 W peak and never states rated power, and 1000 W goes beyond the 750 W limit most states use for e-bikes, so check local rules before you ride bike paths. No class or maximum load is given, the brakes are mechanical discs and the frame is high-step steel. It carries a 4.1 rating from 2321 customer reviews, by far the most here.
Pros, cons and specs
Pros
A 360 Wh removable battery gives a claimed 25-40 miles, and it has a USB port to charge a phone.
Top speed is 20 mph, with 3 pedal assist levels, throttle, pedal-only and walk modes.
The bike weighs 49.6 lbs and fits riders from 5'4" to 6'4".
26 x 1.95 in puncture-resistant tires, a front suspension fork, 7 speeds and dual lights.
Cons
Only the 1000 W peak figure is given; rated power is not stated.
1000 W peak is above the 750 W / 28 mph limits most US states use for e-bikes; check local rules before riding on bike paths.
No maximum load is given, and the brakes are mechanical discs on a steel frame.
Best for: Commuters on a budget who want a simple high-step city e-bike with throttle and a removable battery.
Skip it if you need a step-through frame, a stated weight limit or hydraulic brakes.
The R1 suits a commute that mixes riding with a train or a car trunk. It folds to 37.4 x 17.7 x 27.5 in, runs on 20 x 2.6 in tires and reaches 20 mph from a 350 W rated motor with a 500 W peak, which stays inside the 750 W limit most states use. The removable 48 V 7.8 Ah (374.4 Wh) battery charges in 5.5 hours, according to the listing. Range is where the product page gets confusing: the description promises 25 miles on pedal assist and 15.5 miles on throttle alone, while the title and brand table say 40 miles. Plan your ride around the lowest figure. It is UL2849 certified and comes with dual disc brakes, an LED headlight, a bell and a rear rack for a work bag. The fork is rigid, and the listing gives no bike weight, no maximum load and no class. It fits riders from 5.2 to 6.2 ft and holds a 4.2 rating from 618 reviews.
Pros, cons and specs
Pros
Rated at 350 W with 500 W peak, the R1 reaches 20 mph.
Its removable 48 V 7.8 Ah battery charges in 5.5 hours.
Folds to 37.4 x 17.7 x 27.5 in to fit in a trunk or on the subway.
UL2849 certified, with dual disc brakes, LED headlight, bell and a rear cargo rack.
Cons
The description promises 25 miles on PAS, while the title and brand table say 40 miles.
Rigid fork, and the listing gives no weight or max load.
Throttle-only range is limited to 15.5 miles.
Best for: Budget-minded commuters who want a compact folding e-bike with a UL2849 certification.
Skip it if you ride long distances or on rough pavement.
This unbranded 14-inch folder is built for the short leg of a commute, from a parking garage or transit stop to your desk. It pairs a 350 W brushless motor (700 W peak) with a removable 48 V 10 Ah battery and tops out at 20 mph, with throttle, pedal assist and pedal-only modes. The claimed range of 15-20 miles is the shortest on this page, roughly half of what the Jasion EB5 or the Vivi claim, so it only makes sense if each leg of your ride is short. The listing says the battery and bike meet UL 2271 and UL 2849, validated by SGS. What it leaves out matters: no brand, no weight, no maximum load, no brake type and no rider height range. Small 14 in wheels also feel less stable on rough pavement than the 26 in wheels of the full-size commuters here. It has a 4.2 rating from 550 reviews.
Pros, cons and specs
Pros
350 W brushless motor (700 W peak) with a 20 mph top speed and three modes: throttle, pedal assist and pedal only.
Quick-folding 14 in frame meant to fit in a car trunk or a small apartment.
48 V 10 Ah removable battery; the listing claims UL 2271 (battery) and UL 2849 (e-bike) compliance validated by SGS.
Adjustable seat and handlebar heights, puncture-resistant tires, front and rear lights.
Cons
Claimed range is short: 15-20 miles per charge.
No brand, weight, max load, brake type or rider height range in the listing.
Small 14 in wheels feel less stable on rough pavement than full-size wheels.
Best for: Commuters who need a compact folding e-bike for short trips combined with a car or transit.
Skip it if your commute is longer than about 15 miles each way or you need a bike from a known brand with published specs.
On paper, this second 14-inch folder stretches further than the first: the listing claims 20-25 miles on throttle and 30-35 miles with pedal assist from a removable 48 V 10 Ah battery, against 15-20 miles for its lookalike. It also names dual disc brakes, which the other folder does not. Top speed is 20 mph, with a full electric mode on three speed levels, pedal assist and manual. Two problems keep it from ranking higher. First, the motor is described as 700 W peak in the description and 740 W peak in the heading, and the rated power is missing. Second, a 20 Ah battery option appears under the same product page, so the range you get depends on the version that ships; confirm it before you order. There is no brand, weight, maximum load or rider height range. It claims UL 2271 and UL 2849 compliance and holds a 4.0 rating from 424 reviews.
Pros, cons and specs
Pros
Top speed of 20 mph with three modes: full electric (3 speed levels), pedal assist and manual.
48 V 10 Ah removable battery rated for 20-25 miles on throttle and 30-35 miles with pedal assist.
Quick-folding frame with 14 in wheels, sized for car trunks and public transit.
Dual disc brakes; the listing claims UL 2271 and UL 2849 compliance validated by SGS.
Cons
Only peak power is given (700 W in the description, 740 W in the heading); the rated power is missing.
No brand, weight, max load or rider height range in the listing.
The 10 Ah and 20 Ah battery options appear under the same listing, so range depends on the version received.
Best for: Teens and adult commuters who need a small folding e-bike for short city trips.
Skip it if you need a lightweight bike with a published weight or a long-range commuter.
If your route to work crosses potholes, gravel or sandy paths, the TST is the only bike here with front and rear suspension on 20 x 4 in puncture-proof fat tires. The removable 48 V 15 Ah battery is claimed to reach up to 60 miles on pedal assist and 40 miles on throttle, the longest claims on this page. The listing quotes a 749 W motor, just under the 750 W cap, but gives a 2000 W peak in the description and 1500W in the brand table. Its 28 mph top speed, shown only in that brand table, is the highest speed most states allow any e-bike class, so check local rules before using bike paths. At 66 lbs it is the heaviest model here, though it lists a 450 lbs maximum load. The title also mentions a 25 Ah version under the same listing. Brakes are mechanical discs, the warranty is 180 days, and it has a 4.2 rating from 418 reviews.
Pros, cons and specs
Pros
The listing quotes a 749 W motor with a 2000 W peak and 2 to 3 speed settings.
The removable 48 V 15 Ah battery is rated for up to 60 miles in pedal-assist mode and up to 40 miles on throttle, with a 6-7 hour charge.
Front and rear suspension plus 20 x 4 in puncture-proof fat tires target mixed city, beach and trail riding.
At 66 lbs, the bike is listed with a 450 lbs maximum load, a 7-speed drivetrain and an LCD display.
Cons
The listing gives 2000 W peak in the description but 1500W peak in the brand comparison table, so the real peak figure is unclear.
Braking relies on mechanical discs, which need regular adjustment on a heavy fat tire bike.
Warranty is only 180 days.
Best for: Budget-minded riders who want a full-suspension fat tire e-bike with a removable battery and a high listed load capacity.
Skip it if you want hydraulic brakes or a clear, consistent motor specification.
For a commuter who wants to stay clearly inside the usual rules, the Vivi is the most conservative bike on this page: a 500 W rated motor with a 749 W peak in the description and a 19.8 mph top speed. Its removable 48 V 374.4 Wh battery is claimed to cover 44-50 miles with pedal assist or 22-25 miles on throttle, though at higher assist levels real range will fall well below 50 miles. The aluminum frame weighs about 52 lbs, only slightly more than the Jasion EB5, and carries 330 lbs. You get 21 speeds, front and rear disc brakes, a suspension fork, cruise control, walk assist and UL 2849 certification. The weak point is a contradiction: the brand spec table lists a 1000W peak, not 749 W. The brakes are not described as hydraulic, no class is stated, and the frame is not a step-through. It has a 4.1 rating from 357 reviews.
Pros, cons and specs
Pros
The 500 W rated (749 W peak) motor stays under 750 W and tops out at 19.8 mph.
A removable 48 V 374.4 Wh battery is claimed to cover 44-50 miles with pedal assist or 22-25 miles on throttle, and the bike is certified to UL 2849.
Aluminum frame at about 52 lbs, with a 21-speed drivetrain, front and rear disc brakes and a suspension fork.
Five modes including cruise control and walk assist, with 357 ratings at 4.1 stars.
Cons
The brand spec table lists 500W Rated (Peak 1000W), contradicting the 749 W peak in the description.
The 374.4 Wh battery is modest, so real range will be well below 50 miles at higher assist levels.
Brakes are not specified as hydraulic, which is typical at this level.
Best for: Commuters who want an affordable, legal-speed 26-inch e-bike with a removable battery and plenty of gears.
Skip it if you need long range or a step-through frame.
Pick a claimed range of at least twice your round trip, because listings quote best-case figures. Claimed ranges on this page run from 15-20 miles for the smaller 14-inch folder to up to 60 miles for the TST on pedal assist. Those numbers come from the manufacturers and assume gentle assist, so wind, hills, cold weather and throttle use will shorten them. Some listings also contradict themselves: the Gotrax R1 gives 25 miles in one place and 40 miles in another. When two figures appear, plan your commute around the lower one and treat the higher one as a bonus.
A battery you can take inside
Choose a removable battery if you cannot park next to an outlet. Every bike on this page has one, which lets you carry the pack into the office or your apartment and charge it at a desk. Look at the charging time too: the Gotrax R1 lists 5.5 hours and the TST lists 6-7 hours, so a full recharge during a workday is realistic for both. Battery size is printed in volts and amp-hours or in watt-hours; a 360 Wh or 374.4 Wh pack is modest, while a 48 V 15 Ah pack holds more.
Speed, power and the class system
Know the class rules before you buy, because they decide where you can ride. In the US, Class 1 e-bikes give pedal assist only up to 20 mph, Class 2 adds a throttle up to 20 mph, and Class 3 offers pedal assist up to 28 mph. Many states also cap e-bike motors at 750 W. None of the listings on this page states a class. The Jasion EB5 quotes 1000 W peak, which goes beyond the limits most states use, while the Vivi stays at 19.8 mph with 749 W peak in its description. Check your state and city rules for bike lanes and paths.
Weight and storage at both ends
Check the stated weight if you carry the bike up stairs or onto a train. Only three listings here give one: 49.6 lbs for the Jasion EB5, about 52 lbs for the Vivi and 66 lbs for the TST. The Gotrax R1 and the two 14-inch folders skip weight entirely, which is odd for bikes sold as easy to carry. If you need to fold, the Gotrax R1 publishes a folded size of 37.4 x 17.7 x 27.5 in; measure your trunk or closet against it before ordering.
Wheels and tires for city streets
Match wheel size to the surface you ride every day. Full-size 26 in wheels, as on the Jasion EB5 and the Vivi, roll over cracks more calmly than 14 in wheels, which feel less stable on rough pavement. Fat 20 x 4 in tires with front and rear suspension, as on the TST, soak up potholes at the cost of weight. A front suspension fork helps on a bumpy commute, while the Gotrax R1 has a rigid fork. Puncture-resistant tires, listed on the EB5 and the 14-inch folders, reduce roadside flats, though no tire is immune.
Certification, lights and theft
Look for UL 2849 certification and real lights if you ride every day. The Gotrax R1, the Vivi and both 14-inch folders state UL 2849, and the folders add UL 2271 for the battery. For riding home in the dark, the Jasion EB5 lists dual lights and the Gotrax an LED headlight. Brakes are mechanical discs on the EB5 and the TST, and none of these listings names hydraulic brakes, so expect some brake adjustment. Add a good lock: it slows a thief down but cannot make theft impossible, so park in sight when you can.
Skip it if…
your commute is long and you ride mostly on throttle, since throttle-only claims drop to 15.5 miles on the Gotrax R1.
you must stay within the 750 W limit most states use, in which case the Jasion EB5 and its 1000 W peak motor are the wrong pick.
you carry the bike up several flights of stairs every day and want a published weight before buying.
you want hydraulic brakes, which none of these six listings names.
you need a low step-through frame, since the Jasion EB5 is a high-step bike and the Vivi is not listed as step-through.
FAQ
What is the best commuter electric bike?
The Jasion EB5 is our pick among the six models compared here, because its listing gives the weight (49.6 lbs), the rider height range, a removable 360 Wh battery and a claimed 25-40 miles. If you want to stay under the 750 W limit most states use, the Vivi 26-inch commuter is the safer choice, since the EB5 quotes 1000 W peak.
How far can a commuter e-bike go on one charge?
It depends on the battery and how you ride, and every figure here is a claim from the listing. The bikes on this page range from 15-20 miles for the smaller 14-inch folder to up to 60 miles on pedal assist for the TST fat tire bike. Throttle-only riding cuts range sharply: the Gotrax R1 claims 15.5 miles on throttle versus 25 miles with pedal assist.
Is a folding ebike good for commuting?
Yes, if your commute includes a train, a bus or a car trunk. The Gotrax R1 folds to 37.4 x 17.7 x 27.5 in, and the two 14-inch folders are sized for trunks and small apartments. The trade-off is range and stability: small wheels feel less settled on rough pavement, and the 14-inch models claim far less range than the full-size commuters on this page.
What class of electric bike is best for commuting?
Class 1 and Class 2 e-bikes stop assisting at 20 mph, while Class 3 bikes assist up to 28 mph when you pedal; local rules on which classes may use bike paths vary. None of the listings on this page states a class, so read the motor and speed figures yourself. Bikes above 750 W, like the 1000 W peak Jasion EB5, go beyond the limits most states use.
How heavy is a typical commuter ebike?
The ones on this page that list a weight run from 49.6 lbs for the Jasion EB5 to 66 lbs for the TST fat tire bike, with the Vivi at about 52 lbs. Three listings give no weight at all: the Gotrax R1 and both 14-inch folders. If you have stairs at home or at work, favor a model with a published weight.
Can I charge my commuter e-bike battery at work?
Yes, all six bikes compared here have a removable battery, so you can carry it to an outlet near your desk. Listed charge times include 5.5 hours for the Gotrax R1 and 6-7 hours for the TST, which fits within a workday. Ask your employer first, and use only the charger supplied with the bike.
I
Ilias, eBike Compas
Models are picked from the product listings on Amazon.com, recorded and dated. Missing data is flagged instead of guessed, and no hands-on test is described unless it actually happened. Our method