Best Folding Electric Bike: 6 Models Compared for 2026

By Ilias · Updated October 10, 2026 · Listings checked on Amazon.com

Affiliate links: if you buy through our links, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not affect our picks.

In short

The best folding electric bike for most riders here is the Heybike Ranger 2.0, because it pairs a folding step-through frame with 20 x 4.0 in fat tires and a 600 Wh removable battery claimed at up to 60 miles. Its 1400 W peak motor exceeds the 750 W cap many states use, so check local rules.

Overview: Best electric bikes · Also compare: Lightweight folding

Check priceOur pick: Heybike Ranger 2.0
OUR PICK

Heybike Ranger 2.0

Best for: RV owners, apartment dwellers and riders who want a foldable step-through fat tire bike that is easy to mount.

The most complete folder on this page for comfort and claimed range, with a step-through frame and fat tires, but it is not a light bike and its motor goes beyond common e-bike limits.

  • The Ranger 2.0 moves to a 1400 W peak brushless motor, which Heybike says climbs and accelerates better than the original Ranger.
  • A 600 Wh removable battery is quoted at up to 60 miles.
  • It folds and has a step-through frame, 20 x 4.0 in puncture-proof fat tires, an oversized seat, a rear rack and fenders.
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link · price and availability on Amazon

Quick comparison

  1. 1Heybike Ranger 2.0Our pickCheck price
  2. 2Gotrax R1Folding commuter, 20-inch wheelsCheck price
  3. 314-inch Folding E-Bike, 48V 10Ah (unbranded)Short car-and-ride tripsCheck price
  4. 4ANCHEER StreetRider 14-inch Folding E-BikeShorter riders who lift itCheck price
  5. 514-inch Foldable E-Bike, 48V 10Ah (unbranded)Mostly throttle city hopsCheck price
  6. 6URLIFE F1LTeens and petite adultsCheck price
ModelBest forWheelsWeightBatteryClaimed rangePrice
Heybike Ranger 2.0Our pickOur pick––600 Wh, removableup to 60 milesCheck price
Gotrax R1Folding commuter, 20-inch wheels20 in–48 V 7.8 Ah (374.4 Wh), removable15.5 miles electric, 25 miles PAS (40 miles in title)Check price
14-inch Folding E-Bike, 48V 10Ah (unbranded)Short car-and-ride trips14 in–48 V 10 Ah, removable15-20 milesCheck price
ANCHEER StreetRider 14-inch Folding E-BikeShorter riders who lift it14 in, double-walled rims48.5 lbs48 V 7.8 Ah (374 Wh)20-50 milesCheck price
14-inch Foldable E-Bike, 48V 10Ah (unbranded)Mostly throttle city hops14 in–48 V 10 Ah, removable (20 Ah option)20-25 miles (throttle), 30-35 miles (pedal assist)Check price
URLIFE F1LTeens and petite adults14 in–48 V 7.5 Ah, removable, lockable20-40 milesCheck price

Specs taken from the product listings on October 10, 2026. –: not listed by the manufacturer. Range: maximum claimed figures, often lower in real riding.

The models in detail

This page is for riders who need an e-bike that folds into a car trunk, an RV, a closet or a train, and who want to know what each folding model gives up. We picked six models from Amazon.com product listings checked on October tenth, 2026, comparing wheel size, weight, battery and claimed range. Nobody on our side rode or folded these bikes, so every figure here comes from the product pages.

1 · Our pick

Heybike Ranger 2.0

Electric bike4,3/5 from 788 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)

The Ranger 2.0 is the only full-size fat-tire folder here: 20 x 4.0 in puncture-proof tires instead of the 14 in wheels used by four of the other five models. Heybike lists a 600 Wh removable battery and claims up to 60 miles, the largest battery quoted on this page; the Gotrax R1 lists 374.4 Wh. The step-through frame, oversized seat, rear rack, fenders and integrated lights make it a ready-to-ride bike for RV owners and apartment dwellers. Now the caveats. The motor is rated at 1400 W peak, which goes beyond the 750 W limit most states use for e-bikes, so check local rules before you ride bike paths. The listing gives no top speed, battery voltage, brake type, weight or maximum load, and the battery and range figures appear only in the brand section of the product page, not in the main bullet points. Expect to roll it more than carry it. It holds 4.3 stars from 788 ratings.

Pros, cons and specs
Pros
  • The Ranger 2.0 moves to a 1400 W peak brushless motor, which Heybike says climbs and accelerates better than the original Ranger.
  • A 600 Wh removable battery is quoted at up to 60 miles.
  • It folds and has a step-through frame, 20 x 4.0 in puncture-proof fat tires, an oversized seat, a rear rack and fenders.
  • Integrated front and rear lights, and the listing has 788 ratings at 4.3 stars.
Cons
  • Only the peak motor output is given, and the 1400 W peak is above the 750 W / 28 mph limits most US states use for e-bikes; check local rules before riding on bike paths.
  • The listing gives no top speed, battery voltage, brake type, weight or maximum load.
  • Range and battery figures appear only in the brand block, not in the main bullet points.

Best for: RV owners, apartment dwellers and riders who want a foldable step-through fat tire bike that is easy to mount.

Skip it if you need a light folding bike to carry up stairs or onto trains.

Other specs
  • Motor1400 W peak, brushless
  • Tires20 x 4.0 in puncture-proof fat tires
  • FoldingYes
  • FrameStep-through
Check price on Amazon
2 · Folding commuter, 20-inch wheels

Gotrax R1

Electric bike4,2/5 from 618 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)

The Gotrax R1 sits between the fat-tire Heybike and the 14 in minis. Its 20 x 2.6 in tires roll over cracks better than small wheels, and it folds to 37.4 x 17.7 x 27.5 in, which Gotrax says fits a trunk or the subway. The motor is rated at 350 W with a 500 W peak, top speed is 20 mph, and the removable 48 V 7.8 Ah battery (374.4 Wh) charges in 5.5 hours. It is UL2849 certified and comes with dual disc brakes, a headlight, a bell and a rear rack. Range is the weak spot of the listing: the description says 25 miles on pedal assist, while the title and brand table say 40 miles, and throttle-only range is 15.5 miles. Plan around the lower number. The fork is rigid, and no weight or max load is given, so you cannot compare its carry weight with the 48.5 lbs ANCHEER. Rider height runs from 5.2 to 6.2 ft. It holds 4.2 stars from 618 reviews.

Pros, cons and specs
Pros
  • Rated at 350 W with 500 W peak, the R1 reaches 20 mph.
  • Its removable 48 V 7.8 Ah battery charges in 5.5 hours.
  • Folds to 37.4 x 17.7 x 27.5 in to fit in a trunk or on the subway.
  • UL2849 certified, with dual disc brakes, LED headlight, bell and a rear cargo rack.
Cons
  • The description promises 25 miles on PAS, while the title and brand table say 40 miles.
  • Rigid fork, and the listing gives no weight or max load.
  • Throttle-only range is limited to 15.5 miles.

Best for: Budget-minded commuters who want a compact folding e-bike with a UL2849 certification.

Skip it if you ride long distances or on rough pavement.

Other specs
  • Motor350 W rated, 500 W peak
  • Top speed20 mph
  • Tires20 x 2.6 in
  • BrakesDual disc
  • SuspensionRigid (brand table)
  • FoldingYes, folded size 37.4 x 17.7 x 27.5 in
  • Rider height5.2-6.2 ft
  • DisplaySmart display
Check price on Amazon
3 · Short car-and-ride trips

14-inch Folding E-Bike, 48V 10Ah (unbranded)

Electric bike4,2/5 from 550 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)

This unbranded 14 in folder is built for the last stretch of a trip: drive or take transit, unfold, ride a few miles. The listing quotes a 350 W brushless motor with a 700 W peak, a 20 mph top speed and three modes: throttle, pedal assist and pedal only. The removable battery is 48 V 10 Ah, a higher amp-hour figure than the 7.8 Ah packs on the Gotrax and the ANCHEER, yet the claimed range is only 15-20 miles, the shortest on this page. The seller claims UL 2271 battery and UL 2849 e-bike compliance validated by SGS, and lists puncture-resistant tires, front and rear lights, and adjustable seat and handlebar heights. What is missing matters on a folding bike: no brand name, no weight, no max load, no brake type and no rider height range. Small 14 in wheels also feel less steady on rough pavement than the larger wheels on the Heybike or the Gotrax. It holds 4.2 stars from 550 reviews.

Pros, cons and specs
Pros
  • 350 W brushless motor (700 W peak) with a 20 mph top speed and three modes: throttle, pedal assist and pedal only.
  • Quick-folding 14 in frame meant to fit in a car trunk or a small apartment.
  • 48 V 10 Ah removable battery; the listing claims UL 2271 (battery) and UL 2849 (e-bike) compliance validated by SGS.
  • Adjustable seat and handlebar heights, puncture-resistant tires, front and rear lights.
Cons
  • Claimed range is short: 15-20 miles per charge.
  • No brand, weight, max load, brake type or rider height range in the listing.
  • Small 14 in wheels feel less stable on rough pavement than full-size wheels.

Best for: Commuters who need a compact folding e-bike for short trips combined with a car or transit.

Skip it if your commute is longer than about 15 miles each way or you need a bike from a known brand with published specs.

Other specs
  • Motor350 W brushless, 700 W peak
  • Top speed20 mph
  • Tires14 in puncture-resistant
  • FoldingYes
  • DisplayLED display (battery info)
Check price on Amazon
4 · Shorter riders who lift it

ANCHEER StreetRider 14-inch Folding E-Bike

Electric bike4,3/5 from 508 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)

On a folding e-bike, weight is the figure you feel every time you lift it into a trunk, and this ANCHEER is the only model here whose listing gives it: 48.5 lbs, on an aluminum alloy frame 49.2 in long. It rides on 14 in double-walled rims with front and rear suspension plus seat springs, which is unusual on a bike this small. The 500 W peak motor reaches 20 mph, and cruise control holds your speed once you keep it steady for 8-10 seconds. The battery is 48 V 7.8 Ah (374 Wh), and the claimed 20-50 mile range is so wide that it says little about your own commute. ANCHEER does not state rated motor power, max load, brake type or whether a throttle is included. The rider height range is 4.5 ft to 5.9 ft, so taller adults should look at the Gotrax instead. It arrives 95% assembled with UL2849 certification claimed, and holds 4.3 stars from 508 reviews.

Pros, cons and specs
Pros
  • Weighs 48.5 lbs and measures 49.2 inches long, with a folding aluminum alloy frame.
  • 500 W peak motor with a 20 mph top speed and cruise control (hold the same speed for 8-10 seconds).
  • Front and rear suspension plus seat springs, unusual on a 14 in folder.
  • Arrives 95% assembled; UL2849 certification claimed.
Cons
  • Only peak power is given; the rated motor power is not stated.
  • Small 48 V 7.8 Ah (374 Wh) battery: the 20-50 mile range claim is wide and depends heavily on use.
  • Fits riders from 4.5 ft to 5.9 ft only; max load, brake type and throttle are not specified.

Best for: Shorter commuters who need a light folding e-bike that fits in a car trunk or on transit.

Skip it if you are taller than 5.9 ft or need a published weight limit.

Other specs
  • Motor500 W peak
  • Top speed20 mph
  • SuspensionFront + rear + seat springs
  • FoldingYes
  • FrameAluminum alloy, 49.2 in long
  • Rider height4.5 ft to 5.9 ft
  • DisplayLCD with cruise control
Check price on Amazon
5 · Mostly throttle city hops

14-inch Foldable E-Bike, 48V 10Ah (unbranded)

Electric bike4/5 from 424 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)

This second unbranded 14 in model is the better documented of the two on range: the seller claims 20-25 miles on throttle and 30-35 miles with pedal assist from a removable 48 V 10 Ah battery. That split helps if you plan to ride mostly on the throttle. Top speed is 20 mph, full electric mode has three speed levels, and it adds dual disc brakes, which the other unbranded folder does not list. UL 2271 and UL 2849 compliance validated by SGS is claimed. The listing is messy elsewhere. Peak power reads 700 W in the description and 740 W in the heading, with no rated figure. A 20 Ah battery option sits under the same listing, so the range you get depends on the version that ships; confirm the battery before you order. Weight, max load and rider height are not given. At 4.0 stars from 424 reviews, it has the lowest rating on this page.

Pros, cons and specs
Pros
  • Top speed of 20 mph with three modes: full electric (3 speed levels), pedal assist and manual.
  • 48 V 10 Ah removable battery rated for 20-25 miles on throttle and 30-35 miles with pedal assist.
  • Quick-folding frame with 14 in wheels, sized for car trunks and public transit.
  • Dual disc brakes; the listing claims UL 2271 and UL 2849 compliance validated by SGS.
Cons
  • Only peak power is given (700 W in the description, 740 W in the heading); the rated power is missing.
  • No brand, weight, max load or rider height range in the listing.
  • The 10 Ah and 20 Ah battery options appear under the same listing, so range depends on the version received.

Best for: Teens and adult commuters who need a small folding e-bike for short city trips.

Skip it if you need a lightweight bike with a published weight or a long-range commuter.

Other specs
  • Motor700 W peak (740 W peak in the title)
  • Top speed20 mph
  • ThrottleYes
  • BrakesDual disc
  • FoldingYes
Check price on Amazon
6 · Teens and petite adults

URLIFE F1L

Electric bike4,1/5 from 355 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)

The URLIFE F1L has the smallest fit on this page: the comparison table on the listing sizes it for riders from 4'3" to 5'6". That makes it a sensible folder for teens and shorter adults, and a poor one for most tall riders. It has a 500 W peak motor, a 20 mph top speed and a full-electric throttle mode. The removable 48 V 7.5 Ah battery locks to the frame, charges in 3-5 hours and is claimed at 20-40 miles; it is the smallest pack listed here. Suspension covers the front fork, the center of the frame and the seat, which helps 14 in wheels on rough streets, much like the ANCHEER. UL 2849 is claimed. The listing does not give weight, brake type, maximum load or rated motor power, so you cannot tell how heavy it is to lift compared with the 48.5 lbs ANCHEER. It holds 4.1 stars from 355 reviews.

Pros, cons and specs
Pros
  • Compact folding e-bike on 14-inch wheels with a 500 W peak motor and 20 mph top speed.
  • Removable, lockable 48 V 7.5 Ah battery, 20-40 miles claimed, 3-5 hour charge.
  • Front fork, center and seat suspension to soften small-wheel bumps; UL 2849 claimed.
Cons
  • Weight, brakes and maximum load are not stated.
  • Sized for riders 4'3" to 5'6" only, per the comparison table.
  • Only peak power is given, and a small battery and 14-inch wheels make it a short-trip bike, not a long-range one.

Best for: Teens and shorter adults who need a small folding e-bike for short urban hops.

Skip it if you are taller than 5'6" or want a long-range or hybrid-style commuter.

Other specs
  • Motor500 W peak
  • Top speed20 mph
  • ThrottleYes (full-electric mode)
  • SuspensionFull (front fork, center and seat damping)
  • FoldingYes
  • Rider height4'3" - 5'6"
Check price on Amazon

How to choose a folding electric bike

Wheel size: 14 in or 20 in

Pick 20 in wheels if you ride more than short hops, and 14 in wheels if storage space comes first. Four of the six bikes here use 14 in wheels, which fold into a smaller package and suit trunks, closets and train floors. The trade-off is stability: small wheels drop into potholes and react more to cracks, which is why the ANCHEER and the URLIFE add suspension. The Gotrax R1 uses 20 x 2.6 in tires and the Heybike Ranger 2.0 uses 20 x 4.0 in fat tires, both steadier on broken pavement but bulkier once folded.

A published weight

Treat a missing weight as a warning sign, because a folding bike only helps if you can lift it. Just one listing on this page states its weight: the ANCHEER StreetRider at 48.5 lbs. The others leave it out, including the Heybike, whose fat tires and 600 Wh battery make it unlikely to be light. Before you buy, picture where the bike will go: a car trunk at curb level is very different from a third-floor walk-up or a train step. If you must carry it often, our lightweight folding page narrows the list to bikes built for that.

Battery size and claimed range

Compare battery size first and claimed range second, since range claims on folders vary widely. The Heybike lists 600 Wh, the Gotrax 374.4 Wh and the ANCHEER 374 Wh, while the unbranded models and the URLIFE give volts and amp-hours only (48 V 10 Ah and 48 V 7.5 Ah). Claimed range runs from 15-20 miles on the first unbranded 14 in model to up to 60 miles on the Heybike, and every figure depends on assist level, rider weight and terrain. Every model here except the ANCHEER lists a removable battery, which lets you charge it indoors while the bike stays folded in the car.

Rider height range

Check the rider height range first if you are tall, because small folders are often sized for shorter riders. The URLIFE F1L lists 4'3" to 5'6" and the ANCHEER StreetRider 4.5 ft to 5.9 ft. The Gotrax R1 covers 5.2 to 6.2 ft, the widest published spread on this page. The Heybike and both unbranded 14 in bikes give no height range, so ask the seller for seat post and handlebar limits and compare them with your inseam before ordering. A bike that is too small leaves your knees close to the bars and makes steering feel nervous.

Motor rating and local rules

Most folders here stop at 20 mph, but read the motor rating because one model goes past common limits. In the US, Class 1 e-bikes give pedal assist only up to 20 mph, Class 2 adds a throttle up to 20 mph, and Class 3 offers pedal assist up to 28 mph; many states also cap motors at 750 W. The Heybike Ranger 2.0 lists 1400 W peak, above that 750 W line, and gives no top speed, so check local rules before using bike paths. The other five list 500 W to 740 W peak and a 20 mph top speed. None of these listings names a class.

Brakes and safety certifications

Look for listed brakes and a UL 2849 claim, since those are the details folders most often skip. Dual disc brakes are listed only on the Gotrax R1 and the second unbranded 14 in model; the Heybike, the ANCHEER, the URLIFE and the first unbranded bike leave brake type out. UL 2849 is listed or claimed on every model except the Heybike, and both unbranded bikes also claim UL 2271 for the battery, validated by SGS according to the seller. A claim on a product page is not a certificate in your hand, so ask the seller for documents if your building or landlord requires them.

Skip it if…

  • you have to carry the bike up stairs every day, since only the ANCHEER lists a weight and the Heybike is built around heavy fat tires.
  • you are taller than about 6 ft, as the URLIFE and the ANCHEER stop at 5'6" and 5.9 ft and only the Gotrax lists a range up to 6.2 ft.
  • your commute runs past 15 miles each way and you are eyeing the 14 in models, whose claimed ranges start as low as 15-20 miles.
  • you need an e-bike that clearly stays under 750 W for bike paths in your state, which rules out the Heybike Ranger 2.0.
  • you want a known brand with full published specs, because two of the six bikes here are sold without a brand name.

FAQ

What is the best folding electric bike?

For most riders on this page, the Heybike Ranger 2.0 is the best folding electric bike, thanks to its 600 Wh removable battery, 20 x 4.0 in fat tires and step-through frame. It is not light, and its 1400 W peak motor goes beyond the limits most states use for e-bikes. If you want a 20 mph folder that stays within those limits, the Gotrax R1 is the closest full-wheel alternative.

How much does a folding e-bike weigh?

Most of these listings do not say, and that is the problem. The ANCHEER StreetRider is the only folding e-bike on this page with a published weight, 48.5 lbs. The other five leave weight out, including the Gotrax R1 and the Heybike Ranger 2.0. If you plan to lift the bike often, ask the seller for the exact weight before ordering, or favor a model that lists it clearly.

Are 14-inch folding electric bikes good for adults?

They can work for shorter adults on short trips, but check the height range. The URLIFE F1L lists riders from 4'3" to 5'6" and the ANCHEER StreetRider from 4.5 ft to 5.9 ft. Small wheels fold smaller yet feel less stable on rough pavement than the 20 in wheels on the Gotrax R1 or the fat tires on the Heybike. Taller adults should start with the Gotrax.

How far can a folding ebike go on one charge?

Claimed ranges on this page run from 15-20 miles to up to 60 miles, depending on the model. The Heybike Ranger 2.0 claims the most from its 600 Wh battery. The Gotrax R1 lists 15.5 miles on throttle and either 25 or 40 miles on pedal assist, depending on which part of the listing you read. Treat every figure as a claim: hills, wind, rider weight and throttle use all cut range.

Can I take a folding electric bike on a train or bus?

Often yes, but the rules depend on your transit agency, so check before you ride. The Gotrax R1 folds to 37.4 x 17.7 x 27.5 in, and Gotrax says it fits on the subway. The 14 in models are sold as fitting car trunks and public transit, but most give neither folded dimensions nor weight. Some agencies limit e-bikes or ask that they be folded and bagged, so confirm the policy first.

Is a 1400 W folding e-bike street legal?

It depends on where you ride. Many states cap e-bikes at 750 W, and the Heybike Ranger 2.0 lists 1400 W peak, which goes beyond that line. Its listing gives no top speed and no class. Check your state and city rules before riding it on bike paths or trails, and expect some places to treat it differently from a Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike.

Ilias, eBike Compas
Models are picked from the product listings on Amazon.com, recorded and dated. Missing data is flagged instead of guessed, and no hands-on test is described unless it actually happened. Our method

All our detailed comparisons

See also

Our pick
Heybike Ranger 2.0
Check price