Best Cheap Electric Bike: 6 Budget E-Bikes Compared
IBy Ilias · Updated October 10, 2026 · Listings checked on Amazon.com
Affiliate links: if you buy through our links, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not affect our picks.
In short
The best cheap electric bike on this page is the Jasion EB5. The deciding point is that it publishes the basics budget listings often skip: a 49.6 lbs weight, a 360 Wh removable battery, a 20 mph top speed and a 5'4" to 6'4" rider range. Its 1000 W peak motor exceeds common state limits, though.
Specs taken from the product listings on October 10, 2026. –: not listed by the manufacturer. Range: maximum claimed figures, often lower in real riding.
The models in detail
This page is for riders who want a working e-bike while spending as little as possible, and who want to know what a low price actually costs them. We chose six models from Amazon.com product listings checked on October tenth, 2026, all sitting at the low end of the e-bike market when we looked; prices change often, so check the current price on each product page. We compare what the listings say and what they leave out; we did not ride any of these bikes.
1 · Our pick
Jasion EB5
Electric bike4,1/5 from 2321 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)
Cheap e-bikes often save money by leaving things out of the listing, and the EB5 is the exception on this page. It gives a 49.6 lbs weight, a removable 36 V 10 Ah battery rated at 360 Wh with a claimed 25-40 miles, 7 speeds, a front suspension fork and a 5'4" to 6'4" rider range. Only the TST also publishes a weight, and it is 66 lbs. Top speed is 20 mph, with three assist levels, a throttle, a walk mode and pedal-only riding, so you can still get home on a flat battery. The trade-offs are typical of a budget frame: high-carbon steel, a high-step design, mechanical disc brakes and no stated maximum load. The motor is listed only as 1000 W peak, above the 750 W limit most states use for e-bikes, so check local rules before using bike paths. Its 2,321 ratings at 4.1 stars are the largest pool here.
Pros, cons and specs
Pros
A 360 Wh removable battery gives a claimed 25-40 miles, and it has a USB port to charge a phone.
Top speed is 20 mph, with 3 pedal assist levels, throttle, pedal-only and walk modes.
The bike weighs 49.6 lbs and fits riders from 5'4" to 6'4".
26 x 1.95 in puncture-resistant tires, a front suspension fork, 7 speeds and dual lights.
Cons
Only the 1000 W peak figure is given; rated power is not stated.
1000 W peak is above the 750 W / 28 mph limits most US states use for e-bikes; check local rules before riding on bike paths.
No maximum load is given, and the brakes are mechanical discs on a steel frame.
Best for: Commuters on a budget who want a simple high-step city e-bike with throttle and a removable battery.
Skip it if you need a step-through frame, a stated weight limit or hydraulic brakes.
If staying inside the rules matters as much as the price, the R1 is the cleanest choice here. Its motor is rated at 350 W with a 500 W peak, well under the 750 W figure many states use, and top speed is 20 mph. The listing states UL2849 certification and includes dual disc brakes, an LED headlight and a rear rack, which some cheap bikes charge extra for. The removable 48 V 7.8 Ah battery holds 374.4 Wh, slightly more than the Jasion's 360 Wh, and charges in 5.5 hours. The weak point is the range claim: 15.5 miles on throttle and 25 miles with pedal assist in the description, but 40 miles in the title. Plan on the lower figures. The fork is rigid, so the 20 x 2.6 in tires do all the cushioning, and the listing gives no weight or maximum load. It folds to 37.4 x 17.7 x 27.5 in.
Pros, cons and specs
Pros
Rated at 350 W with 500 W peak, the R1 reaches 20 mph.
Its removable 48 V 7.8 Ah battery charges in 5.5 hours.
Folds to 37.4 x 17.7 x 27.5 in to fit in a trunk or on the subway.
UL2849 certified, with dual disc brakes, LED headlight, bell and a rear cargo rack.
Cons
The description promises 25 miles on PAS, while the title and brand table say 40 miles.
Rigid fork, and the listing gives no weight or max load.
Throttle-only range is limited to 15.5 miles.
Best for: Budget-minded commuters who want a compact folding e-bike with a UL2849 certification.
Skip it if you ride long distances or on rough pavement.
This unbranded folder is the most basic option on the page and makes sense only for short trips. The 350 W brushless motor peaks at 700 W, under the 750 W limit many states use, and top speed is 20 mph with throttle, pedal assist and pedal-only modes. The removable 48 V 10 Ah battery is claimed to give 15-20 miles, the shortest range claim here, so it suits a ride to the train or a few errands rather than a long commute. The listing says the battery meets UL 2271 and the bike UL 2849, validated by SGS. What you give up is information: no brand, no weight, no maximum load, no brake type and no rider height range. Small 14 in wheels also feel less steady on broken pavement than the Jasion's 26 in wheels. Puncture-resistant tires and adjustable seat and bar heights help. It has 550 ratings at 4.2 stars.
Pros, cons and specs
Pros
350 W brushless motor (700 W peak) with a 20 mph top speed and three modes: throttle, pedal assist and pedal only.
Quick-folding 14 in frame meant to fit in a car trunk or a small apartment.
48 V 10 Ah removable battery; the listing claims UL 2271 (battery) and UL 2849 (e-bike) compliance validated by SGS.
Adjustable seat and handlebar heights, puncture-resistant tires, front and rear lights.
Cons
Claimed range is short: 15-20 miles per charge.
No brand, weight, max load, brake type or rider height range in the listing.
Small 14 in wheels feel less stable on rough pavement than full-size wheels.
Best for: Commuters who need a compact folding e-bike for short trips combined with a car or transit.
Skip it if your commute is longer than about 15 miles each way or you need a bike from a known brand with published specs.
On paper this folder goes further than the other 14 in model: the 48 V 10 Ah battery is rated for 20-25 miles on throttle and 30-35 miles with pedal assist. The catch is that the same listing also offers a 20 Ah battery, so the range you get depends on the version that arrives; confirm it before you order. Power is also stated inconsistently, 700 W peak in the description and 740 W peak in the heading, with no rated figure, though both stay below the 750 W cap many states use. Top speed is 20 mph, there are dual disc brakes, and the listing claims UL 2271 and UL 2849 compliance validated by SGS. Like the other unbranded folder, it gives no weight, maximum load or rider height range. It folds to fit a car trunk or a train car. Buyers give it 4.0 stars over 424 ratings, the lowest score on the page.
Pros, cons and specs
Pros
Top speed of 20 mph with three modes: full electric (3 speed levels), pedal assist and manual.
48 V 10 Ah removable battery rated for 20-25 miles on throttle and 30-35 miles with pedal assist.
Quick-folding frame with 14 in wheels, sized for car trunks and public transit.
Dual disc brakes; the listing claims UL 2271 and UL 2849 compliance validated by SGS.
Cons
Only peak power is given (700 W in the description, 740 W in the heading); the rated power is missing.
No brand, weight, max load or rider height range in the listing.
The 10 Ah and 20 Ah battery options appear under the same listing, so range depends on the version received.
Best for: Teens and adult commuters who need a small folding e-bike for short city trips.
Skip it if you need a lightweight bike with a published weight or a long-range commuter.
The TST shows how much hardware a cheap e-bike can pack in, and what that costs elsewhere. It has front and rear suspension, 20 x 4 in puncture-proof fat tires, 7 speeds and a 450 lbs maximum load, none of which the small folders offer. Its removable 48 V 15 Ah battery is claimed to reach up to 60 miles with pedal assist and up to 40 miles on throttle, with a 6-7 hour charge. The motor is listed as 749 W, but the description quotes a 2000 W peak and the brand table a 1500W peak, and that table gives a 28 mph top speed. Those figures go beyond the limits most states use for e-bikes, so check local rules before riding bike paths. At 66 lbs it is far heavier than the 49.6 lbs Jasion EB5, the brakes are mechanical discs, and the warranty runs only 180 days. The title also mentions a bigger battery the description never details.
Pros, cons and specs
Pros
The listing quotes a 749 W motor with a 2000 W peak and 2 to 3 speed settings.
The removable 48 V 15 Ah battery is rated for up to 60 miles in pedal-assist mode and up to 40 miles on throttle, with a 6-7 hour charge.
Front and rear suspension plus 20 x 4 in puncture-proof fat tires target mixed city, beach and trail riding.
At 66 lbs, the bike is listed with a 450 lbs maximum load, a 7-speed drivetrain and an LCD display.
Cons
The listing gives 2000 W peak in the description but 1500W peak in the brand comparison table, so the real peak figure is unclear.
Braking relies on mechanical discs, which need regular adjustment on a heavy fat tire bike.
Warranty is only 180 days.
Best for: Budget-minded riders who want a full-suspension fat tire e-bike with a removable battery and a high listed load capacity.
Skip it if you want hydraulic brakes or a clear, consistent motor specification.
The F1L is the cheap folder for smaller riders, and the rider height range is the first thing to check: the comparison table lists 4'3" to 5'6" only, so taller adults should look at the Jasion EB5 or the Gotrax R1 instead. Within that range, it offers more comfort than the other 14 in models, with a front fork plus center and seat damping. The motor is listed at 500 W peak, within the 750 W limit many states use, and top speed is 20 mph, with a throttle in full-electric mode. The removable, lockable 48 V 7.5 Ah battery is the smallest on the page by amp-hours, yet the claimed range is 20-40 miles, a spread wide enough that you should plan around the low end. Charging takes 3-5 hours, and UL 2849 is claimed. The listing gives no weight, brake type or maximum load. It has 355 ratings at 4.1 stars.
Pros, cons and specs
Pros
Compact folding e-bike on 14-inch wheels with a 500 W peak motor and 20 mph top speed.
Removable, lockable 48 V 7.5 Ah battery, 20-40 miles claimed, 3-5 hour charge.
Front fork, center and seat suspension to soften small-wheel bumps; UL 2849 claimed.
Cons
Weight, brakes and maximum load are not stated.
Sized for riders 4'3" to 5'6" only, per the comparison table.
Only peak power is given, and a small battery and 14-inch wheels make it a short-trip bike, not a long-range one.
Best for: Teens and shorter adults who need a small folding e-bike for short urban hops.
Skip it if you are taller than 5'6" or want a long-range or hybrid-style commuter.
Other specs
Top speed20 mph
ThrottleYes (full-electric mode)
Wheels14 in
SuspensionFull (front fork, center and seat damping)
A cheap e-bike usually saves money on battery size, brakes and documentation rather than on the motor. Every bike on this page uses disc brakes where the type is stated, and none lists hydraulic brakes. Batteries are small: 360 Wh on the Jasion EB5 and 374.4 Wh on the Gotrax R1, the only two that publish a watt-hour figure. Four of the six listings give no bike weight. Pricier e-bikes tend to add hydraulic brakes, larger batteries and complete spec sheets, so decide which of those you can live without before comparing models.
Check the motor against your local rules
Read the motor and speed lines first, because some cheap bikes go past legal e-bike limits. In the US class system, Class 1 gives pedal assist up to 20 mph, Class 2 adds a throttle up to 20 mph, and Class 3 gives pedal assist up to 28 mph; many states also cap motors at 750 W. The Gotrax R1, the two unbranded folders and the URLIFE F1L stay under 750 W peak. The Jasion EB5 lists 1000 W peak and the TST up to 2000 W peak, so check your state's rules before riding them on bike paths.
Plan around the lowest range figure
Use the smallest range number in each listing as your planning figure. Budget listings often contradict themselves: the Gotrax R1 gives 25 miles with pedal assist in the description and 40 miles in the title, and the URLIFE F1L claims 20-40 miles from a 48 V 7.5 Ah battery. The unbranded 14 in folder claims only 15-20 miles. Hills, wind, rider weight and throttle use all shorten real range, and every figure here is the manufacturer's claim, not a measured result.
Pick a wheel size for your roads
Choose 26 in wheels for longer rides on mixed pavement and 14 in wheels only for short trips. The Jasion EB5 rides on 26 x 1.95 in puncture-resistant tires, which roll over cracks more easily than the 14 in wheels of the three small folders. The Gotrax R1 sits in between on 20 x 2.6 in tires, and the TST uses 20 x 4 in fat tires for sand and gravel. Small wheels save space and weight, but they make potholes and rough asphalt feel harsher.
Fit comes before features
Check the rider height range before anything else, since a cheap bike that does not fit is money wasted. The Jasion EB5 lists 5'4" to 6'4", the Gotrax R1 5.2-6.2 ft, and the URLIFE F1L only 4'3" to 5'6". The two unbranded 14 in folders give no height range at all, though their seat and bar heights adjust. If you are near the edge of a range, or the listing is silent, look at the seat post and handlebar adjustment details on the product page before ordering.
Look for a certification and a removable battery
Prefer a cheap e-bike whose listing names a UL standard and lets you take the battery out. The Gotrax R1 states UL2849 certification, the two unbranded folders claim UL 2271 and UL 2849 validated by SGS, and the URLIFE F1L claims UL 2849. A removable battery lets you charge indoors without carrying the whole bike, and every model on this page has one. Use the supplied charger and store the battery as the manual describes, whatever the certification.
Skip it if…
you need hydraulic brakes, since every bike on this page that names its brakes uses mechanical or unspecified disc brakes.
your daily ride is long and you cannot charge at work, because several cheap models here claim 15-25 miles at the low end.
you are over 5'6" and were drawn to the URLIFE F1L, whose listed rider range stops there.
you want a bike that stays inside 750 W and 28 mph without question, which rules out the Jasion EB5 and the TST.
you expect a complete spec sheet with weight and load limits, which most of these budget listings do not provide.
FAQ
What is the best cheap electric bike?
The Jasion EB5 is the best cheap electric bike on this page, because it combines a 20 mph top speed, a removable 360 Wh battery with a claimed 25-40 miles and a published 49.6 lbs weight, plus 2,321 ratings at 4.1 stars. If you want a motor that stays under the 750 W limit many states use, the Gotrax R1 at 350 W rated is the safer choice.
Are cheap ebikes worth buying?
A cheap ebike is worth it for short commutes and errands if you accept a small battery, basic brakes and a thin spec sheet. The models here cover 20 mph top speeds and removable batteries, but none lists hydraulic brakes, and most leave out weight or maximum load. For daily rides of more than about 15 miles each way, a model with a bigger battery is the better buy.
Which cheap electric bike has the longest range?
The TST makes the longest claim on this page, up to 60 miles with pedal assist from a 48 V 15 Ah battery. It is also the heaviest at 66 lbs and lists peak power up to 2000 W. Among the small folders, the 14 in Foldable model claims 30-35 miles with pedal assist on its 10 Ah battery, while the other unbranded folder claims only 15-20 miles.
Do cheap electric bikes have UL certification?
Some do, and the listing should say so plainly. The Gotrax R1 states UL2849 certification, the two unbranded 14 in folders claim UL 2271 for the battery and UL 2849 for the bike validated by SGS, and the URLIFE F1L claims UL 2849. The Jasion EB5 and TST details we checked do not name a UL standard, so ask the seller if that matters to you.
Is a cheap folding e-bike good for commuting?
A cheap folding e-bike works for short commutes that combine riding with a train, bus or car trunk. The Gotrax R1 folds to 37.4 x 17.7 x 27.5 in and runs at 20 mph, and the 14 in models are smaller still. Their limits are range and comfort: small wheels, small batteries and, on the Gotrax, a rigid fork make them a poor fit for long or rough routes.
How fast do cheap electric bikes go?
Most cheap electric bikes on this page are listed at 20 mph, the cap for Class 1 and Class 2 e-bikes. The Jasion EB5, Gotrax R1, both unbranded folders and the URLIFE F1L all give 20 mph. The TST is the exception: its brand comparison table gives 28 mph, the Class 3 ceiling, and its peak power goes well past 750 W, so check local rules first.
I
Ilias, eBike Compas
Models are picked from the product listings on Amazon.com, recorded and dated. Missing data is flagged instead of guessed, and no hands-on test is described unless it actually happened. Our method