The models in detail
This page is for riders who want an e-bike that hauls groceries, gear or work supplies instead of a car. We picked six models from Amazon.com product listings checked on October tenth, 2026, and ranked them first on whether the motor stays within common US e-bike limits, then on battery, brakes and stated payload. We did not load or ride any of them, so every figure below comes from the product pages, and none of these listings says it is rated to carry a child.
1 · Our pick
EUY W1 Dual Battery Cargo E-Bike
Electric bike4,4/5 from 17 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)
We chose the W1 because it is the hauler here that combines a motor rated within the 750 W cap many states use with serious capacity. Its rear hub motor is rated at 750 W and peaks at 1450 W, while both Kago listings and the PHILIAM ET9 only quote peaks of 2000 W and 3000 W. Two removable 48 V 30 Ah packs total 2880 Wh, more than the 2080 Wh of the Kago, for a claimed 160 miles on pedal assist and 100 miles on throttle. Front and rear hydraulic disc brakes, 20 x 4.0 in puncture-proof fat tires, 7 speeds, a front fork, a step-through frame, fenders, lights and a sturdy rear rack round it out. The listing leaves out two figures that matter on a cargo bike, top speed and maximum load, so you cannot know how much it is meant to carry. It weighs about 105 lbs with batteries, 72 lbs without. It has a 4.4 rating from only 17 reviews.
Pros, cons and specs
Pros
- Two removable 48 V 30 Ah batteries (2880 Wh total) with claimed ranges of up to 160 miles in pedal assist and 100 miles on throttle.
- 750 W rated (1450 W peak) rear hub motor; the listing claims climbs of up to 30°.
- Front and rear hydraulic disc brakes, 20 x 4.0 inch fat tires and a sturdy rear cargo rack.
- Step-through frame, full fenders, headlight and tail light, 7-speed gearing.
Cons
- Top speed and maximum load are not given, which matters on a cargo bike.
- About 105 lbs with batteries (the two packs weigh 33 lbs) makes it hard to lift.
Best for: Long-distance riders and errand runners who value range over low weight.
Skip it if you need to carry the bike up stairs or need a published cargo weight limit.
Other specs
- ThrottleYes
- Tires20 x 4.0 in puncture-proof fat tires, one-piece wheels
- WeightAbout 105 lbs with batteries (72 lbs without)
- BrakesHydraulic disc, front and rear
- Gears7-speed
- SuspensionFront fork
- FrameStep-through
- DisplayColor LCD
Check price on Amazon2 · Heaviest stated payload
Jasion Kago
Electric bike4,3/5 from 69 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)
The Kago targets riders who carry heavy loads over long distances. Two removable 52 V 20 Ah batteries total 2080 Wh, and the listing claims up to 150 miles with both, or up to 90 miles on one. Payload is 400 lbs, the rear rack is extended, and it stops with front and rear hydraulic disc brakes, like the EUY W1. It rolls on 20 x 3 in fat tires with 7 speeds, an adjustable fork, a shock-absorbing saddle, turn signals, UL 2849 certification and an IP64 rating. The problem is legal status: only a 2000 W peak figure is given, with no rated power, and the 30 mph top speed is above the 28 mph cap. That goes beyond the limits most states use for e-bikes, so check local rules before you ride bike paths. The bike weight is missing too, and two big batteries add up. It has a 4.3 rating from 69 reviews.
Pros, cons and specs
Pros
- Two removable 52 V 20 Ah batteries total 2080 Wh, for a claimed range of up to 150 miles.
- A 400 lbs max payload and an extended rear rack suit cargo and grocery runs.
- Front and rear hydraulic disc brakes, plus headlight, rear light and turn signals.
- UL 2849 certified and IP64 rated, according to the listing.
Cons
- Only the 2000 W peak figure is given, with no rated power.
- 2000 W peak and 30 mph are above the 750 W / 28 mph limits most US states use for e-bikes; check local rules before riding on bike paths.
- Bike weight is not given, and a dual-battery cargo bike will be heavy.
Best for: Riders who haul heavy loads or ride long distances and want maximum battery capacity.
Skip it if you must stay within Class 1-3 limits or need to lift the bike often.
Other specs
- Top speed30 mph
- Wheels20 in
- Tires20 x 3 in fat
- BrakesFront and rear hydraulic disc
- Gears7-speed
- SuspensionAdjustable front fork + shock-absorbing saddle
- DisplayDisplay with smart connectivity
Check price on Amazon3 · Delivery and gear runs
Jasion Kago (dual battery)
Electric bike4,4/5 from 62 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)
This second Kago product page aims the bike at deliveries and gear hauling. On paper it matches the first listing: 52 V 40 Ah of dual battery (2080 Wh), a claimed range of up to 150 miles, a 400 lbs payload, front and rear hydraulic disc brakes, an adjustable fork and a suspension seat post. It adds five riding modes so you can trade power for range on long routes. Before choosing it over the other Kago, compare the two product pages: this one gives no bike weight, no wheel size, no tire size and no gear count, while the first lists 20 x 3 in tires and 7 speeds. The 2000 W peak motor and 30 mph top speed are beyond the 750 W and 28 mph limits most states use for e-bikes, so check local rules before using bike paths. It is a long-rack utility bike, with no passenger seating, rated 4.4 from 62 reviews.
Pros, cons and specs
Pros
- Two batteries total 52 V 40 Ah (2080 Wh), and the listing claims up to 150 miles of range.
- An extended rear rack and a 400 lbs max payload aim it at groceries, gear hauling and deliveries.
- Front and rear hydraulic disc brakes, an adjustable suspension fork and a suspension seat post.
- Five riding modes let the rider trade power for range.
Cons
- Only the peak motor output is given, and the 2000 W peak and 30 mph top speed are above the 750 W / 28 mph limits most US states use for e-bikes; check local rules before riding on bike paths.
- The listing gives no bike weight, wheel size, tire size or gear count.
- It is a long-rack utility e-bike rather than a box or long-tail cargo bike with passenger seating.
Best for: Riders who haul gear or groceries over long distances and want maximum battery capacity.
Skip it if you need a bike that is legal on bike paths in strict states or easy to lift.
Other specs
- Top speed30 mph
- BrakesFront and rear hydraulic disc
- SuspensionAdjustable front fork and seat suspension
Check price on Amazon4 · Three-wheel grocery runs
Cybervelo C16
Electric bike4,1/5 from 17 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)
The C16 is a trike, not a two-wheel cargo bike, and that is its appeal: three wheels stay upright while you load the rear basket, and a parking brake holds it still. The listing quotes a 750 W rear hub motor with a 1000 W peak and a rear differential for stable turns. A TUV-certified removable 48 V 20.8 Ah battery is claimed to reach up to 80 miles in pedal assist or 60 miles on pure electric. The step-through frame folds and fits riders from 5'3" to 6'3". Payload is the weak spot: 330 lbs in the description but 400 lbs in the brand FAQ, so plan on the lower figure. The product page gives no top speed, tire size or trike weight. It comes with a one-year warranty on motor, battery and controller. With a 4.1 rating from 17 reviews, there is little owner feedback yet.
Pros, cons and specs
Pros
- The listing quotes a 750 W rear hub motor with a 1000 W peak and a rear differential for stable turns.
- A TUV-certified removable 48 V 20.8 Ah battery is claimed to reach up to 80 miles in PAS or 60 miles on pure electric.
- Folding step-through frame with a rear cargo basket, parking brake and LCD display.
- One-year warranty on motor, battery and controller, with 24/7 support.
Cons
- Max load is 330 lbs in the description but 400 LBS in the brand FAQ.
- The listing gives no top speed, tire size or trike weight.
- With 17 ratings, there is little customer feedback so far.
Best for: Riders who want a folding electric trike with a rear cargo basket for groceries and errands.
Skip it if you need a true long-tail or front-box cargo bike for heavy loads or passengers.
Other specs
- ThrottleYes (full-electric mode)
- BrakesDisc, plus parking brake
- FoldingYes
- FrameStep-through
- Rider height5'3"-6'3"
- DisplayLCD
Check price on Amazon5 · Private land hauling
PHILIAM ET9
Electric bike4,6/5 from 15 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)
The ET9 is the most powerful machine on this page and the hardest to recommend for public roads. Two 1500 W motors give 3000 W peak and 120 Nm, fed by a 52 V 50 Ah dual battery that the listing claims will last up to 200 miles on pedal assist and 80-100 miles electric only. It has 4-piston hydraulic disc brakes, 20 x 4 in fat tires, 7 speeds, 5 riding modes, a reinforced rear rack, a removable basket and a riding bag. The 3000 W peak and 31 mph top speed go well beyond the 750 W and 28 mph limits most states use for e-bikes, so check local rules before riding bike paths; it fits private land better. The listing markets a long saddle for a passenger yet gives no bike weight and no maximum load, so do not carry a second person on it. Rated power is not stated either. It shows 4.6 stars from just 15 reviews.
Pros, cons and specs
Pros
- Dual-motor, dual-battery fat-tire bike: 3000 W peak, 120 Nm and a 52 V 50 Ah battery system.
- Claimed range of 80-100 miles electric only and up to 200 miles with pedal assist.
- Extended cushioned saddle, reinforced rear rack, removable rear basket and riding bag for cargo.
- 4-piston hydraulic disc brakes on 20 x 4 inch tires, 5 riding modes and 7 speeds.
Cons
- Only peak power is given; the rated motor power is not stated.
- Above the 750 W / 28 mph limits most US states use for e-bikes; check local rules before riding on bike paths.
- Bike weight and max load are not listed, even though it is marketed for carrying a passenger.
Best for: Riders who want extreme range and cargo capacity on private roads or where such power is allowed.
Skip it if you need a street-legal Class 1-3 e-bike or a published payload rating.
Other specs
- Top speed31 mph
- ThrottleYes (pure electric mode)
- Tires20 x 4 in fat tires
- Brakes4-piston hydraulic disc
- Gears7-speed
- DisplayLCD
Check price on Amazon6 · Light errands, folds
GELEISEN PM-09
Electric bike4,3/5 from 74 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)
The PM-09 is the light-duty option. Its listing gives both a payload and a top speed that stays inside the usual rules: 300 lbs for rider plus cargo, and 20 mph. It has a heavy-duty steel rear rack, a step-through aviation aluminum frame, 20 x 3.0 in fat tires, 6 speeds and 5 assist levels, and it fits riders from 5'0" up. The bike is UL 2849 certified and the battery UL 2271. It also folds, which none of the Kago models or the EUY W1 can claim. Be clear about what it is not: there is no long tail, no front box and no passenger seat, and the 374.4 Wh battery is claimed to give 25 miles on pedal assist and 15.5 miles electric only, a small fraction of the dual-battery haulers. The listing never states motor power or battery voltage, and it does not describe the brakes. It holds a 4.3 rating from 74 reviews.
Pros, cons and specs
Pros
- Folding e-bike with a heavy-duty steel rear rack for groceries or gear, and a total payload of 300 lbs (rider + cargo).
- Step-through frame on 20 x 3.0 inch fat tires, suitable from 5'0".
- UL 2849 certified bike and UL 2271 certified battery; 5 assist levels and 6-speed gearing.
Cons
- Motor power and battery voltage are not stated anywhere in the listing.
- It is a folding bike with a rear rack, not a long-tail or front-box cargo bike.
- Small 374.4 Wh battery: 25 miles claimed in pedal assist and 15.5 miles electric only.
Best for: Urban riders who need light errand capacity on a bike that folds into a car trunk.
Skip it if you need to haul kids or bulky loads, or want a true cargo bike.
Other specs
- Top speed20 mph
- ThrottleYes (all-electric mode)
- Tires20 x 3.0 in fat tires
- Gears6-speed
- FoldingYes
- FrameStep-through, aviation aluminum
- Rider height5'0" and up
- DisplayColor LCD
Check price on AmazonHow to choose a cargo electric bike
A published payload, rider included
Start with a stated maximum load, because a cargo e-bike without one leaves you guessing. On this page, the PM-09 lists 300 lbs for rider plus cargo, both Kago listings give 400 lbs, and the C16 trike gives 330 lbs in its description but 400 lbs in its FAQ. The EUY W1 and the PHILIAM ET9 publish no payload at all. Add your own weight to the cargo you plan to carry, then keep a margin below the listed figure. When a listing gives two numbers, trust the lower one.
Rack bike, long-tail or trike
Decide what shape of hauler you need before comparing batteries. Long-tail and front-box cargo bikes are built around a long frame or a cargo box; none of the six products here is one. The PM-09, both Kago listings, the W1 and the ET9 are utility bikes with a rear rack, which suits groceries, bags and boxes. The Cybervelo C16 is a three-wheel trike with a rear basket, which stays upright while you load it. If you need room for bulky items, measure the rack or basket on the product page against what you carry.
Kids and passengers
Do not plan to carry a child on any bike on this page, because no listing here states a passenger rating. Some pages hint at it: the PHILIAM ET9 markets a long saddle for two, yet it gives no maximum load or bike weight. A real kid-hauling setup needs a stated payload, a passenger seat or child seat approved by the bike maker, footrests and wheel guards. If carrying kids is your goal, look for a cargo bike whose product page names those parts and a load limit, then check your local rules on child passengers.
Motor power and legal limits
Check the motor and top speed against your local rules, because three of these haulers go beyond them. US e-bike classes stop assisting at 20 mph for Class 1 and Class 2 and at 28 mph for Class 3, and many states cap motors at 750 W. Both Kago listings (2000 W peak, 30 mph) and the PHILIAM ET9 (3000 W peak, 31 mph) go beyond the limits most states use for e-bikes. The EUY W1 and the Cybervelo C16 are rated at 750 W, and the PM-09 lists 20 mph without giving motor power.
Battery size versus weight
Buy only as much battery as your routes need, because big packs add a lot of weight. Claimed ranges here run from 25 miles on pedal assist for the PM-09 to 200 miles for the PHILIAM ET9, and loads, hills and throttle use will cut all of them. The EUY W1 shows the trade-off: its two packs weigh 33 lbs, taking the bike from 72 lbs to about 105 lbs. Removable batteries help, since you can charge them indoors, but a heavy hauler still needs ground-floor parking or a garage.
Brakes for a loaded bike
Favor hydraulic disc brakes if you carry heavy loads, since stopping distances grow with weight. Both Kago listings and the EUY W1 name front and rear hydraulic discs, and the PHILIAM ET9 lists 4-piston hydraulic discs. The PM-09 listing does not describe its brakes, and the C16 trike only mentions disc brakes plus a parking brake, which helps when you load it on a slope. Whatever you choose, test the brakes with a load on a quiet street before riding in traffic, and add a sturdy lock: it slows a thief down but cannot make theft impossible.
Skip it if…
- you need to carry a child or an adult passenger, since none of these listings states a passenger rating.
- you live upstairs with no elevator, because the EUY W1 alone weighs about 105 lbs with its batteries.
- you must ride on bike paths in a state that enforces the 750 W cap, which rules out both Kago listings and the PHILIAM ET9.
- you want a long-tail or front-box cargo frame rather than a bike with a rear rack.
- you only make short trips with a backpack, in which case a standard commuter e-bike is lighter and easier to park.
FAQ
What is the best cargo electric bike?
Among the six compared here, the EUY W1 is our pick: its motor is rated at 750 W, it carries 2880 Wh across two removable batteries and it stops with hydraulic discs. Its listing gives no payload, though. For a stated payload, the GELEISEN PM-09 lists 300 lbs, and the Jasion Kago lists 400 lbs but goes beyond the limits most states use.
How much weight can a cargo e-bike carry?
It depends on the model, and the figure usually includes the rider. On this page, stated payloads run from 300 lbs for the PM-09 to 400 lbs for both Kago listings. The Cybervelo C16 trike lists 330 lbs in one place and 400 lbs in another, while the EUY W1 and PHILIAM ET9 give no payload at all.
Can I carry my kids on these cargo ebikes?
No listing on this page states a passenger rating, so we do not recommend carrying a child on any of them. A bike built for kids should name an approved child seat or passenger kit, footrests, wheel guards and a payload that covers rider, children and bags. Check the maker's instructions and your local rules before carrying a passenger.
Are dual-battery cargo e-bikes worth it?
They make sense if you ride long distances with heavy loads, but they add weight. The EUY W1 claims up to 160 miles on pedal assist from two packs, and the Jasion Kago claims up to 150 miles. The W1's batteries alone weigh 33 lbs, and the full bike reaches about 105 lbs, so you need easy ground-level storage.
Is an electric trike a good cargo bike?
Yes, for riders who value stability over speed and agility. The Cybervelo C16 stays upright while you load its rear basket, has a parking brake and folds for storage. The trade-off is width: a trike takes more space on paths and in a garage, and the C16 listing gives no top speed or trike weight.
Do I need a license for a powerful electric cargo bike?
It depends on your state. Bikes within the usual e-bike limits, 750 W and 20 or 28 mph depending on class, are often treated like bicycles. Models above those limits, such as the Kago at 30 mph or the PHILIAM ET9 at 3000 W peak, may fall outside e-bike rules, so check with your state motor vehicle agency.
IIlias, eBike Compas
Models are picked from the product listings on Amazon.com, recorded and dated. Missing data is flagged instead of guessed, and no hands-on test is described unless it actually happened.
Our method