Best Electric Bike in 2026: 6 E-Bikes Compared by Use

By Ilias · Updated October 10, 2026 · Listings checked on Amazon.com

Affiliate links: if you buy through our links, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not affect our picks.

In short

The best electric bike for most riders is the Jasion EB5. It tops out at 20 mph, weighs 49.6 lbs and runs on a removable 360 Wh battery with a claimed 25-40 miles. Its 1000 W peak motor goes past the 750 W cap many states use, so check local rules first.

Also compare: Step-through e-bikes

Check priceOur pick: Jasion EB5
OUR PICK

Jasion EB5

Best for: City commuters who want a light, affordable 20 mph e-bike with a removable battery.

The most balanced pick here: a 20 mph high-step commuter that stays manageable at 49.6 lbs and has by far the largest pool of buyer ratings on the page.

  • Capped at 20 mph with a 1000 W peak motor, it suits paths where faster e-bikes are restricted.
  • At 49.6 lbs it is light for the category, with a high-carbon steel frame and 26 x 1.95 in puncture-resistant tires.
  • The removable 360 Wh battery is UL 2849 tested and claimed to give 25-40 miles, with a USB port for charging a phone.
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link · price and availability on Amazon

Quick comparison

  1. 1Jasion EB5Our pickCheck price
  2. 2Gotrax R1Folding and transitCheck price
  3. 3TST 20-inch Fat Tire E-Bike (48V 15Ah)Heavy riders, mixed terrainCheck price
  4. 4Aipas M1 ProTall riders, rough trailsCheck price
  5. 5Jasion EB5 UltraHydraulic brakes, big batteryCheck price
  6. 6Gotrax DolphinStep-through, short commutesCheck price
ModelBest forClassMotorBatteryClaimed rangePrice
Jasion EB5Our pickOur pick–1000 W peak36 V 10 Ah (360 Wh), removable25-40 milesCheck price
Gotrax R1Folding and transit–350 W rated, 500 W peak48 V 7.8 Ah (374.4 Wh), removable15.5 miles electric, 25 miles PAS (40 miles in title)Check price
TST 20-inch Fat Tire E-Bike (48V 15Ah)Heavy riders, mixed terrain–749 W, 2000 W peak48 V 15 Ah, removableup to 60 miles (PAS), up to 40 miles (throttle)Check price
Aipas M1 ProTall riders, rough trails–1800 W peak rear hub, 110 Nm48 V 17.5 Ah, removable (UL 2271 per SGS)Up to 85 miles (pedal assist)Check price
Jasion EB5 UltraHydraulic brakes, big battery–2500 W peak, 75+ Nm52 V 20 Ah (1040 Wh), removableup to 70 milesCheck price
Gotrax DolphinStep-through, short commutes–350 W rated, 500 W peak36 V 7.8 Ah (280.8 Wh), removable15.5 miles electric, 30+ miles PASCheck price

Specs taken from the product listings on October 10, 2026. –: not listed by the manufacturer. Range: maximum claimed figures, often lower in real riding.

The models in detail

This page is for anyone buying a first electric bike, or replacing an old one, who wants to see the main types side by side before narrowing down. We picked six models from Amazon.com product listings checked on October tenth, 2026, covering city commuting, folding, fat tire and full-suspension riding. Every figure comes from the listing or the manufacturer; we did not ride these bikes, so there is no road test behind the comparisons.

1 · Our pick

Jasion EB5

Electric bike4,1/5 from 2321 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)

On paper, the EB5 covers what most first-time buyers need. The listing gives a top speed of 20 mph, a push-button throttle, four riding modes and 7-speed gearing, so you can still pedal normally when the battery runs low. At 49.6 lbs it is far lighter than the TST (66 lbs) or the Aipas (88 lb), which matters if you carry it up steps or onto a car rack. The removable 36 V 10 Ah battery stores 360 Wh, is UL 2849 tested and is claimed to give 25-40 miles; the EB5 Ultra holds 1040 Wh, so the gap in range is real. The motor is listed only as 1000 W peak, with no rated figure, and that peak is above the 750 W limit many states use, so check local rules before riding bike paths. The listing gives no maximum load, and braking is by mechanical discs. It carries 2,321 ratings at 4.1 stars.

Pros, cons and specs
Pros
  • Capped at 20 mph with a 1000 W peak motor, it suits paths where faster e-bikes are restricted.
  • At 49.6 lbs it is light for the category, with a high-carbon steel frame and 26 x 1.95 in puncture-resistant tires.
  • The removable 360 Wh battery is UL 2849 tested and claimed to give 25-40 miles, with a USB port for charging a phone.
  • Four modes, 7-speed gearing, a front suspension fork and the listing's 2,321 ratings at 4.1 stars.
Cons
  • The 360 Wh battery is small, so range is modest next to fat tire models.
  • Only the peak motor output is given, and braking relies on mechanical discs.
  • The listing gives no maximum load.

Best for: City commuters who want a light, affordable 20 mph e-bike with a removable battery.

Skip it if you need long range or plan to ride rough trails.

Other specs
  • Top speed20 mph
  • ThrottleYes (push-button)
  • Wheels26 in
  • Tires26 x 1.95 in puncture-resistant
  • Weight49.6 lbs
  • BrakesMechanical disc, front and rear
  • Gears7-speed
  • SuspensionFront fork
  • FrameHigh-step, high-carbon steel
  • Rider height5'4"-6'4"
  • DisplayLCD, 5-level backlight
Check price on Amazon
2 · Folding and transit

Gotrax R1

Electric bike4,2/5 from 618 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)

The R1 is the folding option on this page. It packs down to 37.4 x 17.7 x 27.5 in, which is the reason to choose it over the full-size Jasion EB5 or Gotrax Dolphin. The motor is rated at 350 W with a 500 W peak, comfortably inside the 750 W figure many states use, and top speed is 20 mph. Its removable 48 V 7.8 Ah battery holds 374.4 Wh and charges in 5.5 hours. Range is where the listing contradicts itself: the description says 15.5 miles on throttle and 25 miles with pedal assist, while the title and brand table say 40 miles, so plan around the lower number. The fork is rigid, the 20 x 2.6 in tires are the only cushioning, and the listing gives neither the bike's weight nor a maximum load. A rear cargo rack and LED headlight come standard.

Pros, cons and specs
Pros
  • The motor is rated at 350 W with 500 W peak, for a top speed of 20 mph.
  • The 48 V 7.8 Ah battery charges in 5.5 hours and is removable.
  • The bike folds to 37.4 x 17.7 x 27.5 in for car trunks or transit.
  • UL2849 certified, with dual disc brakes, LED headlight and a rear cargo rack.
Cons
  • Range is inconsistent: 25 miles PAS in the description, 40 miles in the title and brand table.
  • No suspension, and weight and max load are not given.
  • A small battery limits real-world range on throttle.

Best for: Commuters who want an affordable, UL-certified folding e-bike for short trips and transit.

Skip it if you need long range or suspension for rough roads.

Other specs
  • Top speed20 mph
  • Wheels20 in
  • Tires20 x 2.6 in
  • BrakesDual disc
  • SuspensionRigid (brand table)
  • FoldingYes, folded size 37.4 x 17.7 x 27.5 in
  • Rider height5.2-6.2 ft
  • DisplaySmart display
Check price on Amazon
3 · Heavy riders, mixed terrain

TST 20-inch Fat Tire E-Bike (48V 15Ah)

Electric bike4,2/5 from 418 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)

The TST lists a 749 W motor, just under the 750 W cap many states use, but also a 2000 W peak in the description and a 1500W peak in the brand table. Either peak figure is well past 750 W, and the brand table puts top speed at 28 mph, the Class 3 ceiling, so check local rules before using bike paths. In return you get front and rear suspension, 20 x 4 in puncture-proof fat tires and a 450 lbs maximum load, second only to the Aipas on this page. The removable 48 V 15 Ah battery is claimed to reach up to 60 miles with pedal assist and up to 40 miles on throttle, with a 6-7 hour charge. The bike weighs 66 lbs, has 7 speeds and stops with mechanical discs that need regular adjustment. The title also mentions a larger battery version that the description never details, and the warranty runs only 180 days.

Pros, cons and specs
Pros
  • The listing quotes a 749 W motor with a 2000 W peak and 2 to 3 speed settings.
  • The removable 48 V 15 Ah battery is rated for up to 60 miles in pedal-assist mode and up to 40 miles on throttle, with a 6-7 hour charge.
  • Front and rear suspension plus 20 x 4 in puncture-proof fat tires target mixed city, beach and trail riding.
  • At 66 lbs, the bike is listed with a 450 lbs maximum load, a 7-speed drivetrain and an LCD display.
Cons
  • The listing gives 2000 W peak in the description but 1500W peak in the brand comparison table, so the real peak figure is unclear.
  • Braking relies on mechanical discs, which need regular adjustment on a heavy fat tire bike.
  • Warranty is only 180 days.

Best for: Budget-minded riders who want a full-suspension fat tire e-bike with a removable battery and a high listed load capacity.

Skip it if you want hydraulic brakes or a clear, consistent motor specification.

Other specs
  • Top speed28 mph (brand comparison table)
  • ThrottleYes
  • Tires20 x 4 in puncture-proof fat tires
  • Weight66 lbs
  • Max load450 lbs
  • BrakesMechanical disc
  • Gears7-speed
  • SuspensionFront and rear
  • DisplayLCD
Check price on Amazon
4 · Tall riders, rough trails

Aipas M1 Pro

Electric bike4,4/5 from 311 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)

The Aipas is built for riders the others do not fit: the listing gives a rider height range of 5'5" to 7'2" and a 500 lb maximum load, the highest on this page. Full suspension, with a 100 mm adjustable fork and a rear shock, sits on 26 x 4 inch fat tires, and the step-through frame makes getting on easier. The 1800 W peak rear hub motor with 110 Nm is claimed to handle climbs of up to 23 degrees, and the brand comparison block gives 36 mph. Both figures go beyond the 750 W and 28 mph limits most states use for e-bikes, and no rated power is listed, so check local rules before riding bike paths. The 48 V 17.5 Ah battery claims up to 85 miles with pedal assist and charges in 4-6 hours. The cost is weight, 88 lb, plus 180 mm mechanical discs rather than hydraulic brakes for a bike this heavy and fast.

Pros, cons and specs
Pros
  • 1800 W peak rear-hub motor with 110 Nm of torque; the listing claims climbs of up to 23°.
  • Full suspension (100 mm adjustable fork + rear shock) on 26 x 4 inch fat tires, with a step-through frame.
  • 48 V 17.5 Ah removable battery, up to 85 miles claimed in pedal assist, 4-6 hour charge.
  • High 500 lb max load; headlight, brake-activated tail light, horn and USB port.
Cons
  • Only peak power is given; the rated motor power is not stated.
  • Above the 750 W / 28 mph limits most US states use for e-bikes; check local rules before riding on bike paths.
  • At 88 lb with mechanical (not hydraulic) disc brakes, it is heavy to lift and less suited to hard braking at speed.

Best for: Taller or heavier riders who want a full-suspension fat-tire bike for gravel, trails and commuting.

Skip it if you need a light bike, a legal Class 1-3 setup or hydraulic brakes.

Other specs
  • Top speed36 mph (brand comparison block)
  • Tires26 x 4 in fat tires
  • Weight88 lb
  • Max load500 lb
  • BrakesDual 180 mm mechanical disc
  • Gears7-speed
  • SuspensionFull: 100 mm adjustable front fork + rear shock
  • FrameStep-through
  • Rider height5'5" - 7'2"
  • DisplayLCD with USB charging port
Check price on Amazon
5 · Hydraulic brakes, big battery

Jasion EB5 Ultra

Electric bike4,3/5 from 310 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)

If braking and battery size matter most, the EB5 Ultra leads this page on paper. It is the only model with hydraulic disc brakes, and its removable 52 V 20 Ah battery holds 1040 Wh for a claimed range of up to 70 miles. A front fork and a 160 mm rear shock work with 26 x 4 in fat tires, and a rear rack and full fenders are included, along with a 330 lbs payload. The motor is listed at 2500 W peak with at least 75 Nm, and the brand table gives 33 mph: both are above the 750 W and 28 mph limits most states use for e-bikes, so check local rules before taking it on bike paths. The listing gives no bike weight, the recommended rider height starts at 5'6", and the same product page also sells the EB5 MAX, which has a smaller battery and front suspension only, so confirm which version you order.

Pros, cons and specs
Pros
  • The listing quotes a 2500 W peak motor with at least 75 Nm of torque.
  • A removable 52 V 20 Ah (1040 Wh) battery is claimed to deliver up to 70 miles.
  • Hydraulic disc brakes, a reinforced front fork and a 160 mm rear shock on 26 x 4 in fat tires.
  • Comes with a rear rack and full fenders, a 330 lbs payload and a recommended rider height of 5'6" to 6'7".
Cons
  • Only the peak motor output is given, and the 2500 W peak and 33 mph are above the 750 W / 28 mph limits most US states use for e-bikes; check local rules before riding on bike paths.
  • The listing gives no bike weight.
  • The same ASIN also sells the EB5 MAX, whose specs differ (48 V 15 Ah, front suspension only).

Best for: Taller riders who want a powerful full-suspension fat tire bike with hydraulic brakes and a rack.

Skip it if you are under 5'6" or need a bike within US e-bike class limits.

Other specs
  • Top speed33 mph (brand table)
  • Wheels26 in
  • Tires26 x 4 in fat tires
  • Max load330 lbs
  • BrakesHydraulic disc
  • Gears7-speed
  • SuspensionFront fork and 160 mm rear shock
  • Rider height5'6"-6'7"
Check price on Amazon
6 · Step-through, short commutes

Gotrax Dolphin

Electric bike4,3/5 from 294 Amazon customer ratings (as of October 10, 2026)

The Dolphin suits riders who want an easy step-through frame and modest speed. The motor is rated at 350 W with a 500 W peak, top speed is 20 mph, and the bike offers pure electric, 5-level pedal assist and pedal-only modes, plus a 3.7 mph walk mode for pushing it up ramps. Shimano 7-speed gearing, a front suspension fork and 26 in wheels make it more comfortable on rough streets than the rigid Gotrax R1. It is UL2849 certified, and the removable battery charges in 5.5 hours. The weak point is capacity: 36 V 7.8 Ah, or 280.8 Wh, the smallest here, with a claimed 15.5 miles on throttle and 30+ miles with pedal assist. The listing does not give the weight, the maximum load, or whether the disc brakes are mechanical or hydraulic. Its 294 ratings average 4.3 stars, the best score on the page.

Pros, cons and specs
Pros
  • 350 W rated motor (500 W peak) reaches 20 mph.
  • Pure electric, 5-level pedal assist and pedal-only modes, plus a 3.7 mph walk mode.
  • Shimano 7-speed, front suspension fork and dual disc brakes on 26 in wheels.
  • UL2849 certified, with a removable battery that charges in 5.5 hours.
Cons
  • The 280.8 Wh battery is small: 15.5 miles on throttle only.
  • Weight and max load are not given.
  • Brake type (mechanical or hydraulic) is not specified.

Best for: First-time e-bike buyers who want a certified step-through for short commutes.

Skip it if you need more than about 15 miles on throttle or a stated weight limit.

Other specs
  • Top speed20 mph
  • ThrottleYes
  • Wheels26 in
  • BrakesDual disc
  • GearsShimano 7-speed
  • SuspensionFront fork
  • FrameStep-through
  • Rider height5.2-6.4 ft
Check price on Amazon

How to choose an electric bike

Start with the class and your local rules

Check what your state allows before you compare anything else. In the US class system, Class 1 bikes give pedal assist only, up to 20 mph; Class 2 adds a throttle, also up to 20 mph; and Class 3 gives pedal assist up to 28 mph. Many states also cap e-bike motors at 750 W. Several bikes on this page list peak outputs far above that, and the Aipas and Jasion EB5 Ultra list top speeds of 36 and 33 mph, so they fall outside the limits most states use. None of these listings states a class, so read the motor and speed lines yourself.

Set a budget and know what it buys

Your budget decides battery size and brake quality more than anything else. Lower-priced models tend to use smaller batteries, mechanical disc brakes and thinner spec sheets; the Gotrax Dolphin, for example, lists 280.8 Wh and does not say which type of disc brakes it uses. Bigger budgets bring larger batteries and hydraulic brakes, as on the Jasion EB5 Ultra. If you have a fixed ceiling, our cheap e-bike guide and our two budget-ceiling pages show what you give up at each level and which models were listed within it.

Read range claims with care

Treat every range number as a claim and plan around the lowest figure in the listing. Real range depends on rider weight, hills, wind, tire pressure and how much you use the throttle. The Gotrax R1 shows why: its description says 25 miles with pedal assist, while its title says 40 miles. A steadier guide is battery capacity in watt-hours, when the listing gives it: 280.8 Wh on the Dolphin, 360 Wh on the Jasion EB5 and 1040 Wh on the EB5 Ultra. Throttle-only riding always drains the battery faster than pedal assist.

Weight, storage and folding

Check the weight if you will ever lift the bike, because it varies widely and some listings leave it out. The Jasion EB5 weighs 49.6 lbs, the TST 66 lbs and the Aipas 88 lb, while the two Gotrax models and the EB5 Ultra publish no weight at all. If you live upstairs, take the train or have little storage, a folding bike such as the Gotrax R1, which folds to 37.4 x 17.7 x 27.5 in, is easier to live with. Our folding e-bike page covers that use in more depth.

Frame, fit and suspension

Match the frame and the rider height range to your body before looking at power. Step-through frames, like those of the Gotrax Dolphin and Aipas M1 Pro, are easier to mount, especially with a bag on the rack. Listed rider heights matter: the Jasion EB5 fits 5'4" to 6'4", the EB5 Ultra starts at 5'6", and the Aipas goes up to 7'2". Suspension helps on broken pavement and trails, and fat tires add grip on sand or gravel at the cost of extra weight and slower steering.

Brakes and certification

Prefer hydraulic disc brakes on heavy or fast bikes, and look for a UL certification. Mechanical discs work but need regular cable adjustment; only the Jasion EB5 Ultra lists hydraulic brakes here. UL 2849 is a safety standard for the electrical system of an e-bike, and the Gotrax R1, Gotrax Dolphin and Jasion EB5 listings mention it, while the Aipas battery is listed as UL 2271 per SGS. A certification is not a substitute for using the supplied charger and storing the battery the way the manual describes.

Skip it if…

  • you need a bike that fits a Class 1, 2 or 3 definition without question, because several models here list peak power or top speeds beyond those limits.
  • you must carry the bike up stairs every day; even the lightest model here with a published weight is 49.6 lbs.
  • you want a range figure you can count on, since every number on this page is a manufacturer claim and real range shrinks with hills and throttle use.
  • you want hydraulic brakes on a modest, lighter bike, because only the most powerful model here lists them.
  • you expect official weight and load figures for every model, as both Gotrax listings leave them out.

FAQ

What is the best electric bike for most people?

For most riders, the Jasion EB5 is the best electric bike on this page, because it combines a 20 mph top speed, a removable 360 Wh battery with a claimed 25-40 miles, and a published weight of 49.6 lbs. It also has the most buyer ratings here, 2,321 at 4.1 stars. Its listed 1000 W peak is above the 750 W limit many states use, so confirm your local rules first.

What is the difference between Class 1, 2 and 3 e-bikes?

The classes differ by how the motor is controlled and how fast it assists. Class 1 bikes assist only while you pedal, up to 20 mph. Class 2 bikes add a throttle that can move the bike without pedaling, also up to 20 mph. Class 3 bikes assist while you pedal up to 28 mph and may be kept off some paths. Many states also cap e-bike motors at 750 W.

How far can an ebike go on one charge?

It depends on battery size and how you ride, and every listed range is a claim. On this page, claims run from 15.5 miles on throttle for the two Gotrax models to up to 85 miles with pedal assist for the Aipas M1 Pro. Hills, rider weight, wind, cold weather and heavy throttle use all cut range, so plan your rides around the lower number in each listing.

Is a fat tire electric bike better than a regular one?

A fat tire bike is better on sand, gravel and loose trails, but worse if you need to lift, store or pedal it without power. The TST weighs 66 lbs and the Aipas 88 lb, against 49.6 lbs for the Jasion EB5 on narrower 26 x 1.95 in tires. For paved commutes, a lighter bike with standard tires is usually easier to live with day to day.

Is a 1000 W electric bike street legal?

It depends on where you live, so check your state and city rules before you buy. Many states cap e-bikes at 750 W, and the Jasion EB5 lists a 1000 W peak with no rated figure. Bikes like the Aipas M1 Pro or Jasion EB5 Ultra, with listed top speeds of 36 and 33 mph, go well beyond the 28 mph Class 3 limit, so they may not be allowed on bike paths.

Should I buy a folding electric bike?

Buy a folding electric bike if storage space or transit matters more to you than comfort and range. The Gotrax R1 folds to 37.4 x 17.7 x 27.5 in, but it has a rigid fork, a 374.4 Wh battery and a range claim that changes across its listing. Full-size bikes like the Jasion EB5 ride more smoothly on 26 in wheels. Our folding e-bike page compares more compact models.

Ilias, eBike Compas
Models are picked from the product listings on Amazon.com, recorded and dated. Missing data is flagged instead of guessed, and no hands-on test is described unless it actually happened. Our method

All our detailed comparisons

Our pick
Jasion EB5
Check price